Recipes – To share on not to share…

Following on from my last post about the Covert Cook School I felt I should continue the theme with a post about recipes.

I often get asked at our dinners “so how did you make this or that”… well I normally just ask them if I do not already have it for their email address and then I email them a link to my recipe store with a link for the recipe in question.

ppI have set up an account with an online app called “Pepperplate”. It is a very simple to use as it allows me to create a recipe upload a photo of the finished dish and then share either by email or social media.

It’s also compatible with my iPhone and iPad so no excuses. I currently have some 100 plus recipes stored at the moment and add one nearly every day! I can thoroughly recommend the app so do give it a go.

I have also recently joined a closed group on Facebook called Foodie Favourites that has been set up by a lady called Robbine Collie who I have known for a number of years. She heads up a company called Food at Work that does team building workshops with cookery at the centre plus she also runs cookery classes in North London via her brand Ufoodie. The idea however behind the Foodie Favouritesff facebook page has been as Robbine  states

“I started this group because people often ask me foodie advice and while I always have some kind of answer (useful or not), many of you have even better or different ideas and experiences and I thought it would be TOTALLY AMAZING if we can benefit from our COLLECTIVE recommendations on all things foodie – delicious ingredients, nifty kitchen gadgets, utensils and equipment, best foodie shops, great food related services such as cooking classes, caterers, food delivery services, ready meals services etc – basically a place to ask advice and share your favourite foodie information.”

In a very short space of time the group now boasts some 1000 plus members and it never ceases to amaze me how foodie questions are answered so quickly. I have discovered new foods and ideas on  a regular basis and have also seen some of my friends and followers actively taking part in the group with passion and delight to share their experiences. It just goes to prove how much of a leveller food can become. Long may this continue.

food-swapIt must be about time for another Tunbridge Wells “Food Swap” to be organised by Laura Goode ? Something else I have enjoyed in the past when a freshly made loaf of bread could be exchanged for a jar of homemade chutney or some other yummy food item…

In fact it is now so easy to get inspiration or ideas with the click of a mouse.  You can watch a 30 second video of how to make something or you can simply “google” a query about a product. I was so pleased recently when I spotted a post on someone looking to source a local Kent cheese made to ethical standards that I was able to share my knowledge about Winterdale Shaw following my own personal experiences.

It also amazed me when a totally random email landed in my inbox enquiring how to purchase Dorrbohnen (Dried Green Beans) in the UK. It gave me great pleasure to be able to assist this person keen to source them to be able to sell some of my limited stocks so they could cook them for their festive meal and then discover I could replenish my stocks direct via the Swiss Supermarkets German web site and get them couriered to the UK at considerably less cost than a return flight to Switzerland!

I just love it when I can share a new ingredient or something a bit more quirky. For example a new Vegetable recently to be found on kalettesthe supermarket shelf are Kalettes ( a cross between a Brussels
Sprout top and Kale)  Ikan Bilis is another such ingredient and thanks to my connection to Singapore. Six large bags of these salted and dried anchovies will now have to feature somewhere on my future menus…

So to answer my question to share or not what do you think? Your thoughts are welcomed!

