Toast can kill you…

Now that is not a headline I expected to wake up to and when I saw the BBC news site headline that toast & potatoes are a “potential cancer risk” – this was yet another piece of sensational journalism letting us know that our food had yet another risk. toast

There is hardly a day that goes by that we are not bombarded with another health scare related to our food. I take them all with a pinch of salt (now that is something else we are supposed not to consume!)

In fact salt is something I wish more people would use as under-seasoned food is something that winds me up no end as salt enhances a foods natural flavour and lack of seasoning in cooking results in bland unappealing food.salt

We seem to be constantly under attack not to “eat this” or “drink that”… I have adopted the policy if I enjoy something I will eat it and get the pleasure I seek but I am cautious to eat in moderation where I can.

I do however have very fond memories of consuming a whole “salt cured” fresh foie gras with a delightful bottle of vintage Krug champagne with a long time friend in a back street restaurant in Toulouse over 40 years ago… I still lived to tell the tale!

toast2
Toast as art… whatever next…

So I wonder what will be the next food scare – I know for sure it will not be something I will loose too much sleep over…Life needs those pleasures and food delivers on so many fronts – I reckon you are more likely to die from choking on a piece of toast if you ask me… Bon Appetite!

